Lincoln College

Undergraduate Catalog 2013-1014: Lincoln College

Lincoln College: Lincoln Campus Academics: General Studies

General Studies Faculty

Amber Angermeier-Weekly

Assistant Professor of Sociology

aangermeier@lincolncollege.edu
Education: M.A., Morehead State University; B.A., University of South Alabama


Chris Baker

Instructor of Philosophy and Logic

cbaker@lincolncollege.edu
Education: M.A., University of Illinois at Springfield; B.A., Trinity College


Joe Baker

Assistant Professor of Criminology/Political Science

jbaker@lincolncollege.edu
Education: M.A., University of Illinois at Springfield; B.A., Sangamon State University; A.A., College of DuPage


Michelle Baldwin

Assistant Professor of English
Division Chair – Language/Humanities

mbaldwin@lincolncollege.edu
Education: M.S. Ed., Illinois State University; B.S., Illinois State University; A.A., Lincoln College


Jan Bowers

Associate Professor of Mathematics
Division Chair – Science/Mathematics/Business

jbowers@lincolncollege.edu
Education: M.S., Illinois State University; B.S., Illinois State University; A.A., Lincoln College


Barbra Burdett

Assistant Professor of Biology

bburdett@lincolncollege.edu
Education:
M.A., University of Illinois at Springfield; B.S., Millikin University; A.A., Lincoln College


Dr. G. Dennis Campbell

Professor of Biology/Geology

dcampbell@lincolncollege.edu
Phone: (217) 735-5050, ext 260
Education: Ph.D., University of New South Wales, Australia; M.S., Texas Tech University; B.S., Texas Tech University

Classes Taught:

Prior to coming to Lincoln College, Dr. Campbell was managing editor and associate curator of zoology at the Illinois State Museum, and has taught science courses at colleges and universities in the U.S. and Australia. He is the director of Creekside, Lincoln College’s new outdoor center for environmental education. He encourages undergraduate student participation in scientific research of Pleistocene paleontology (e.g., woolly mammoths and ancient trees), cave ecology (e.g., cave crickets and bats), and stream limnology (e.g., freshwater mussel communities).


Judith Cortelloni

Assistant Professor of English/Humanities

jcortelloni@Lincolncollege.edu
Phone: (217) 735-5050, ext 209
Education: M.A., Illinois State University; B.S., Illinois State University; A.A., Lincoln College

Classes Taught:

Research interests: Kinesthetic Learning, Gender Studies, Art in Media, Text, and Film. Education and Technology. Presentations at Allerton Articulation Conferences 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012.


Cynthia Fox

Assistant Professor of Vocal Music

cfox@lincolncollege.edu
Education:
M.M., Colorado State University; B.M., University of Colorado


Eric Grunder

Assistant Professor of Biology

egrunder@lincolncollege.edu
Education:
M.S., Eastern Illinois University; B.S., Eastern Illinois University; A.A., Lincoln College


Martin Holden

Assistant Professor of Theatre & Speech

mholden@lincolncollege.edu
Education: M.F.A., Baylor University; M.A., Texas A&M University-Commerce; B.S., Texas A&M University-Commerce


Michele Hutchison

Instructor of Mathematics

mhutchison@lincolncollege.edu
Education: M.S., Illinois State University; B.S., Illinois State University


Spring Hyde

Assistant Professor of English/Humanities

shyde@lincolncollege.edu
Phone: (217) 732-3155, ext 207
Education: M.A., Western Illinois University; B.A., Western Illinois University

Classes Taught:

Mrs. Hyde serves as advisor to Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society at Lincoln College, and she is a member of the planning committee for the Allerton English Articulation Conference where she has presented on topics including Using Film in the Literature Classroom, Kinesthetic Intelligence in the Composition Classroom, Grade Norming, and English Placement. Mrs. Hyde’s interests include Arthurian Legend, Greek Mythology, Poetry, Chaucer, and Developmental Writing. She was named “Most Inspirational Teacher” by Western Illinois University, Logan County Teacher of the Month by the Logan County Board, and a finalist for the Jack D. Nutt Teaching Excellence Award at Lincoln College.


Ron Keller

Associate Professor of History
Museum Curator

rkeller@lincolncollege.edu
Education:
M.A., Eastern Illinois University; B.A., Eastern Illinois University; A.A., Olney Central College


Kenneth Kendall

Assistant Professor of Theatre

kkendall@lincolncollege.edu 
Education:
M.F.A., Roosevelt University; B.A., Weber State University


Paula Knopp

Associate Professor of Psychology

pknopp@lincolncollege.edu
Education:
M.S., Illinois State University; B.S., Illinois State University


Katy Koe

Assistant Professor of Mathematics

kkoe@lincolncollege.edu 
Education:
M.S., University of Toledo; B.S., Far Eastern University, Manila, Philippines


Patrick Lepper

Assistant Professor of Business
Head Men’s Basketball Coach

plepper@lincolncollege.edu 
Education:
M.B.A., Jacksonville University; B.S., Indiana University – Purdue University at Fort Wayne; A.S., John Wood Community College


John Malone

Associate Professor of Broadcasting
General Manager for WLNX

jmalone@lincolncollege.edu  
Education:
M.A., University of Illinois at Springfield; B.A., North Central College


Ben Massena

Instructor of Sports Management
Head Men’s Soccer Coach

bmassena@lincolncollege.edu
Education: M.S., American Public University System; B.S., Greenville College


Laurel Perez

Instructor of English

lperez@lincolncollege.edu
Education: M.A., University of North Dakota; B.A., University of North Dakota


Jeannine Pickering

Associate Professor of Psychology

jpickering@lincolncollege.edu
Education:
M.S., Illinois State University; B.S., Western Illinois University


Katrina Ross

Assistant Professor of Mathematics

kross@lincolncollege.edu
Education: M.A., University of Illinois at Springfield; B.A, Eureka College


Angela Sleeter

Instructor of English

asleeter@lincolncollege.edu
Education:
Ph.D., Purdue University; M.A., Purdue University; B.A., Taylor University


Kelly Smith

Instructor of English

ksmith@lincolncollege.edu  
Education:
 M.A., Illinois State University; B.A., Illinois State University


Mark Tippett

Assistant Professor of Education
Division Chair – Social Sciences/Physical Education
Head Volleyball Coach

mtippett@lincolncollege.edu
Phone: (217) 735-5050, ext 359

Classes Taught:

Mr. Tippett has been at Lincoln College since 2001.  He is a 1993 graduate of Millikin University and of the University of IL at Springfield Teacher Education Program.  He earned his Master’s in Education from the American College of Education.  Mr. Tippett is a certified public school teacher and taught 3rd grade prior to his employment at LC.  He is married and has two daughters.


John Welter

Associate Professor of History

jwelter@lincolncollege.edu
Education:
M.A., Eastern New Mexico University; B.S., Kansas State University


Mitzi Welsh

Instructor of Geography

Education: M.S., Sangamon State University; B.S., Illinois State University


Carol Wilson

Assistant Professor of Physical Education
Head Women’s Basketball & Golf Coach

cwilson@lincolncollege.edu
Education:
M.Ed., University of Southern Mississippi; B.S., Illinois College


Scott Woger

Assistant Professor of Instrumental Music
Division Chair – Fine Arts/Communications

swoger@lincolncollege.edu
Education:
M.M.E., VanderCook School of Music; B.S., Carroll College


Karin Wright

Assistant Professor of English/Humanities

kwright@lincolncollege.edu
Phone: (217) 732-3155, ext 386
Education: M.A., Illinois State University; B.S., Illinois State University

Classes Taught:

Ms. Wright’s interdisciplinary background of writing, the humanities, and social sciences motivates her research, writing and pedagogical interests in rhetoric and history, philosophy and pop culture, and gender studies. The use of technology in education is a growing field of research that has resulted in presentations within and outside of Lincoln College. Ms. Wright attended Illinois State University where she earned a Bachelor’s degree in History (1991) and a Master’s degree in Writing (1996).


Crystal Wurth

Instructor of Social Sciences
Head Softball Coach

cwurth@lincolncollege.edu
Education:
M.A., University of Illinois at Springfield; B.A., Webster University; A.A., Lincoln College, Lincoln, IL


Christina Xamis

Instructor of Speech

cxamis@lincolncollege.edu
Education: M.A., University of Illinois at Springfield; B.A., University of Missouri


Tom Zurkammer

Instructor of Mathematics

tzurkammer@lincolncollege.edu 
Education:
M.Ed., University of Illinois; B.A., MacMurray College; A.A., Lincoln College, Lincoln, IL